Site Map  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Calendar
Text Size
Increase Font Size
Decrease Font Size

Community Development

The Community Development Department's mission is to coordinate the County's strategic planning; promote citizen participation to attain the highest quality of life; improve and sustain quality of the natural and built environment that attracts business investments in the county and enforce County codes to promote the health, safety and welfare of citizens of Clayton County.

Community Development Department is a premier department; responsible for interpreting and implementing ordinances/codes that shape Clayton County's built environment. By the nature of our responsibilities we recommend/enforce land-use/zoning regulations that promote economic development; regulate licensure for businesses; administer housing and urban development grants; spatially manage the county's land resources and enforce building codes to protect the life, safety and welfare of Clayton County citizens within the context of the overall County vision.

The Community Development Department is comprised of six (6) divisions; Administration, Planning & Zoning, Building Permits & Business License, Inspections, Geographic Information System (GIS), and Housing and Urban Development (HUD) programs.

                                Operating Hours:

              Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

              Cashiering Services Close at 4:30 p.m.

For more information regarding department functions, please select the appropriate division on the menu to the left or the diagram below:


Director: Patrick Ejike
P.K. Dixon Building, Annex 2
121 South McDonough Street,
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone: (770) 477-3569
Fax: (770) 210-5230

Land Resource Management System


Maintaining your Home Brochure