Site Map  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Calendar
Text Size
Increase Font Size
Decrease Font Size

Tax Commissioner


The Main Tag Office and Satellite Tag Office normal hours of business are 8:00 a.m. -  4:30 p.m. These offices may close prior to 4:30 p.m., as needed, due to the volume of customers on any given day. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience.


Current 2015 Tax Digest and 5-year History of Levy

The Clayton County Board of Commissioners does hereby announce that the millage rate will be set at a meeting to be held at the Board of Commissioners Board Room on July 30, 2015 at 10:00 a.m. and pursuant to the requirements of O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-32 does hereby publish the following presentation of the current year's tax digest and levy, along with the history of the tax digest and levy for the past five years.

Read Current 2015 Tax Digest and 5-year History of Levy


                                           PUBLIC NOTICE

House Bill 386 removes the sales tax and the annual ad valorem tax on newly-purchased vehicles. It replaces these taxes with a new title tax of 6.5% in 2013 and 6.75% in 2014 and 7% in 2015 and beyond.

Overview of Tax Reform Changes Regarding Vehicles

Motor Vehicle Tax Reform (HB 386)


Terry L. Baskin currently serves as The Tax Commissioner of Clayton County, Georgia. Prior to taking office, he served four years under the past Tax Commissioner as the Deputy Tax Commissioner. A resident of Jonesboro since 1990, Terry is a dedicated community leader, husband and proud father.

Terry is a long-standing member of the Georgia Association of Tax Officials and County Officer Association of Georgia. He received his training from the Carl Vincent University in tax, bankruptcy, and constitutional laws. Terry, a graduate of the 2003 Regional Leadership Institute, is also an alumnus of Leadership Clayton. He attended the Saint Leo University with a concentration in Business Administration. Terry currently serves as Secretary/Treasurer on the Board of Directors of Arts Clayton, Girls and Boys Club of America Task Force, and Regional Leadership Forum.

Involved in politics for many years, he has served as Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Clayton County Democratic Party. He was a Committee Member of the State of Georgia Democratic Party, and the Congressional Representative for the 13th District of the Georgia Association of Democratic County Chairs, and a member of the Southlake Kiwanis Club. Terry is a former member of the Clayton County Community Service Board, the United Way Advisory Board, the Executive Committee of the Clayton County NAACP, and 100 Black Men of South Metro.

A retired Atlanta police investigator with 22 years of experience, Terry worked in a variety of management positions including budget analyst in the Atlanta Police Fiscal Unit. His service to the community earned him the Blue Star Award along with numerous letters of commendation in recognition of extraordinary service.

Terry is married to the former LyCynthia Sampson. They are the parents of one daughter - Rachel Renee. They are members of World Changers Church International.


Tax Commissioner: Terry L. Baskin
Clayton County Administration
Annex 3, 2nd Floor
121 South McDonough Street
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Tax: (770) 477-3311 
Motor Vehicle: (770) 477-3331

Related Links